Peritoma arborea. Young plant advice

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
My Peritoma arborea isn't looking too healthy. I purchased it as a 4" young plant and it survived the L.A fall and winter fine. But recently seems to be quite discoloured and lacking in some vitality.

This is my first year in California and first year of growing natives. All advice I have read so far on natives seems to advise against fertlising, but should I with this Bladderpod to give it a boost?

I have some Fox Farm fertilisers, I do have one rich in nitrogen for foliage.

Pictures below showing plant, leaf discolouration (and unknown self seeded seedling.)

Many thanks,
Thomas

IMG_8273.JPG
IMG_8275.JPG

Reaction score
Country
United States
Your are right about no fertilizer for natives. Don't use Fox Farms because its too acidic and would kill it. You would do better, and it would be easier, if you just removed the top Inch of loose potting soil on top and replaced if with new fresh organic potting mix, and water it in. It will take a couple of weeks for the plant to return to good health. Also, for the fastest rebound back to good health, use rain or RO or filtered water, because tap water is alkaline.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
Your are right about no fertilizer for natives. Don't use Fox Farms because its too acidic and would kill it. You would do better, and it would be easier, if you just removed the top Inch of loose potting soil on top and replaced if with new fresh organic potting mix, and water it in. It will take a couple of weeks for the plant to return to good health. Also, for the fastest rebound back to good health, use rain or RO or filtered water, because tap water is alkaline.
Ah, great advice thank you.

Should I add any organic garden compost into to the potting mix? Or just the potting mix alone?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States