Passion Fruit is Hollow!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
So, I have three different vines, red, purple and blue. The red has barely flowered, but sometimes the purple (maypop) and blue (carulea) have flowers at the same time and I can cross pollinate by hand. I went out one day and noticed a bunch of gulf fritillary caterpillars on the blue, then realized it also had fruit. Long story short, I moved all the caterpillars and waited for the fruit to ripen.

One fruit was partially eaten by something - probably a snail, the second to ripen was hollow. The vine keeps making fruit and I'm waiting for them to ripen again. Does anyone know why they have been hollow so far?

Reaction score
Thank you so much for moving the caterpillars instead of killing them like many users on here have suggested other gardens, you have a great hart and are so respectful of nature :) Thanks a lot! As for your question, I'm not an expert, but I think it would help the experts on here a lot if they could see a picture of your wines and the fruits.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Thank you so much for moving the caterpillars instead of killing them like many users on here have suggested other gardens, you have a great hart and are so respectful of nature :) Thanks a lot! As for your question, I'm not an expert, but I think it would help the experts on here a lot if they could see a picture of your wines and the fruits.

They were gulf fritillary butterfly caterpillars. It's the first time I have had them in my yard and I moved them to a) protect the vine, and b) protect the caterpillars from wasps. I have all these host and nectar plants, but the caterpillars never make it because the wasps keep getting them. I need to set up a new butterfly habitat, but I've had other things going on.

This photo is from July - as you can see, it was before I removed the caterpillars.

10955286_10206791343599870_5887121882301093508_n.jpg

Reaction score