Opinions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3a/3b
Country
Canada
I realized today, I'm very insecure gardener, I guess it comes with experience,
IMG_0892.JPG
I'm not good at judging where things should go.
Should these hosta follow the curve of the path along the edge more? Or do you have a suggestion as to what I can fill that section in with?
I'm not sure what else to plant there as it's already a pretty busy area, I will be removing those hanging baskets. Maybe also painting that lattice next year so it's the same color as the gazebo?

Thanks in advance :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I like your idea of having the hosta follow the curve of the path.
Then maybe something low growing and colorful to fill in the rest of the area...phlox or ajuga or something like that?

MaryMary

Quite Contrary
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Maybe also painting that lattice next year so it's the same color as the gazebo?

I guess it would depend on how you see the lattice. If you see it as only there for plants to grow on, then maybe you would want to paint it so it blends in more. If you see it as an accent piece to the gazebo, then don't paint it the same color.

I think the white looks nice, but just a little stark. The only thing I would do is plant something to grow up the sides so that bits of lattice are showing from behind the plants. I like the way the front looks better than the sides. I like the white peeking out from the plants. :) This might be because I am a big fan of lattice, and YMMV. :D

Bottom line - If it bothers you, paint it. (y)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would place the hostas in a triangle ...
A couple of heucheras like Obsidion or Taffeta would both complement and provide evergreen interest.
However, hakonechloa would be my choice there Lynn:)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA 10a - Sunset 22
Country
United States