northern Kentucky clay ground

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,I am a newbie to yawls forum.Please steer me in the right direction or tell me if anyone thinks that this would be a good or bad idea.Any help will be great.My ground in the past would work up okay but as soon as it gets wet it sure does turn hard,So this is what I was thinking about doing is I have a mulch pile from chipping limbs from trees that I cut down last year and it has broken down pretty good.I was going to add that to the soil.Then I was going to get a pickup truck load or 2 or clean sand and till all that into the soil.Does any one think that's a good idea or just a waist of time.I am open to any and all suggestions.THANK YOU

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Sounds like a good plan to me! (y)
Also if you plant any flowers, shrubs, veggies or whatever, make a habit of mulching them. Helps stifle weeds and will break down in the soil. I use straw in my veggie beds, broken down wood chips are great too.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello,I am a newbie to yawls forum.Please steer me in the right direction or tell me if anyone thinks that this would be a good or bad idea.Any help will be great.My ground in the past would work up okay but as soon as it gets wet it sure does turn hard,So this is what I was thinking about doing is I have a mulch pile from chipping limbs from trees that I cut down last year and it has broken down pretty good.I was going to add that to the soil.Then I was going to get a pickup truck load or 2 or clean sand and till all that into the soil.Does any one think that's a good idea or just a waist of time.I am open to any and all suggestions.THANK YOU
Adding the organic tree stuff to you soil will be great but you must remember that clay+sand=brick. Don't do it.

Reaction score
Country
United States