North Facing Fruit/Veg bed advice please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hiya !
I am very new to gardening but we moved house last week and we have a lovely little garden which I have always intended to use to grow some fruit and veg :)
In a year or so time we will be completely re doing the garden but for now I want to make use of what we already have here.
We have cleared this bed today and discovered it has lovely soil. I would like to make use of this and get some things growing in here. The downside is it’s position, right in front of the garage making it North facing :(
I had a quick google but if anyone else has any advice / tips or recommendations on what edible things I could grow here that would be great!
thank you!
D7050C8D-7E41-4199-8787-0D98DE167286.jpeg

Attachments

• DBD627B2-F70E-4F6C-ABA9-211104C94F8F.jpeg
    DBD627B2-F70E-4F6C-ABA9-211104C94F8F.jpeg
    402.3 KB · Views: 52
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
If you just sow a half row of each, and save the rest of the seeds for later, you`ll find that you can re sow more seeds as you get spaces. Sow them thinly they need to be thinned out as they get bigger.
Anything in the cabbage family will be ok in shade too, but they take up a fair bit more space.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Look up square space gardening and think crop rotation. The best spinach and a wide variety of leaf lettuces I ever grew through the heat of summer was in a totally shaded bed.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks very much for advice!
I have worked out I have approx. 10 x square foot spaces and have purchased the following seeds:
Peas
Beetroot
Lettuce
Spinach
Broccoli
Kale
Carrots

I have a worked the bed over a bit and I think it’s ready but I’m wondering if there’s any tips or tricks before I sow them? They all say they’re suitable for sowing outdoors from March... should I just go for it??