No more thumbnail pictures...?

Discussion in 'Feedback and Comments' started by MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    Yesterday, I copied and pasted @zigs' photo of "MaryMary Mallow," and tried to make it a thumbnail. He knows what he posted, I don't need to post the big picture of it. :cautious: I just wanted to post a thumbnail to let him know I saw it.

    It was also a nice option for when someone posts a string of pictures, and I want to know what is "this plant in this photo" - I would thumbnail the photo with my question, so that they didn't have to go back to their post to figure out what was in the third one down. I found it handy.

    The thumbnail option is gone? :confused:

    It's not a big thing, I'm mostly just curious. I also used to use that option to look at the "Photo of the Month" pictures. I would copy and paste the pics to the bottom of the voting thread, then make them all thumbnails, so I could get a better idea of what the picture would look like, smaller, as it will be on the sidebar. Kind of a preview of what it would actually look like...it's been the tie-breaker a couple times!! :D
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MaryMary

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    473
    Location:
    UK
    I've not changed anything on the forum, so it should work as before - can you run me through how you post the thumbnail and I'll try it at my end :).

    Normally, when using the "upload a file" button, it will list the attachments under the post editor and then it will have a "thumbnail" and "full image" button where you can insert the post. For example, this is inserted as a thumbnail:

    test.JPG
     
    Ian, Nov 26, 2017
    #2
    CanadianLori likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    I right click the mouse and select "Copy image." Then paste it, full size, into the thread. Then, at the bottom, I would have the option to select "full image" or "thumbnail," just as if I were posting a picture of my own.

    I just checked - I can still make thumbnails of my own pictures, but it doesn't work when I copy and paste other people's photos anymore. :(


    0411012020.jpg
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #3
  4. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    Well, you might need a full size picture to try what I described!!

    0411012020.jpg
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #4
  5. MaryMary

    zigs Naughty Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6,661
    Likes Received:
    5,991
    Location:
    Dorset.
    I get the same if i copy and paste...

    [​IMG]
     
    zigs, Nov 26, 2017
    #5
  6. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    @zigs - do you get the option to make it a thumbnail? I used to, and I don't anymore. :(
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #6
  7. MaryMary

    zigs Naughty Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6,661
    Likes Received:
    5,991
    Location:
    Dorset.
    Not with copy and paste as you'm bypassing the upload system
     
    zigs, Nov 26, 2017
    #7
  8. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    Bypassed or not, the system did let me do it, and now it won't. I can't remember specifically which threads I have done this in - wait, yes, I can!! (y)



    What's Looking Good in May 2017
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #8
    zigs likes this.
  9. MaryMary

    zigs Naughty Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6,661
    Likes Received:
    5,991
    Location:
    Dorset.
     
    zigs, Nov 26, 2017
    #9
  10. MaryMary

    JBtheExplorer Native Gardener

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I don't remember ever being able to do that, but you could save the photo and then upload it yourself if you needed to.
     
    JBtheExplorer, Nov 26, 2017
    #10
    Ian and zigs like this.
  11. MaryMary

    zigs Naughty Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6,661
    Likes Received:
    5,991
    Location:
    Dorset.
    That's all i could manage
     
    zigs, Nov 26, 2017
    #11
  12. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    It's not really that big of a problem!! I guess if I want to know the name of a plant, I can ask the person, and let them scroll back to their photo, or I can copy and paste the full image. It was nice to preview the Photo of the Month selections, though. :(


    I just found it handy, and wondered what happened. :confused:
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #12
  13. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    @Rajesh Sethi, how did you do that? o_O Did you have to download my picture then upload it?
     
    MaryMary, Nov 26, 2017
    #13
  14. MaryMary

    Rajesh Sethi

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    India
    Sorry, above method not working, please someone delete two of my posts.

    I tried insert then tried uploading, insert one didn't show at all.those other were from upload.

    sorry for confusion!
     
    Rajesh Sethi, Nov 26, 2017
    #14
  15. MaryMary

    Rajesh Sethi

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    India
    can't figure it out how to add "height" and "width" option to image, on different site I have html option to resize image from background.

    Its not working here!

    [​IMG]

     
    Rajesh Sethi, Nov 27, 2017
    #15
  16. MaryMary

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    473
    Location:
    UK
    I think it's probably a change in how the browser works, rather than the site - I know that some browsers would try and "upload" the image when pasted in, some just link to the existing image. I think you'd have to do it the longer way to get it working now, unfortunately.

    Which browser are you using, and I'll see if there's anything I can find that might re-enable it :).
     
    Ian, Nov 27, 2017
    #16
  17. MaryMary

    Stink Bug

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    119
    Seems fine

    [​IMG]
     
    Stink Bug, Nov 27, 2017
    #17
    Beverly, Ian and Rajesh Sethi like this.
  18. MaryMary

    Rajesh Sethi

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    India
    Gecko, cute! Its hard to find now as my cats started to kill them for fun.
     
    Rajesh Sethi, Nov 27, 2017
    #18
  19. MaryMary

    MaryMary Quite Contrary

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    Ian, I am using Firefox. :unsure:
     
    MaryMary, Nov 27, 2017
    #19
  20. MaryMary

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    473
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks :). Did you upgrade to the new "Quantum" version recently?
     
    Ian, Nov 28, 2017
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.