Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to organic growing, and the process in which it takes to grow organically. I wanted to compile a list of tips, tricks, and do's and don'ts of organic growing. I am expecting and would love to move toward organic before my baby gets here. A few other questions I had include; Is it a rough transition? Is it worth the effort it takes? How much more effort goes into organic gardening? Is it do-able with a new baby, or should I wait until the baby is older?
Thanks!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I am new to organic growing, and the process in which it takes to grow organically. I wanted to compile a list of tips, tricks, and do's and don'ts of organic growing. I am expecting and would love to move toward organic before my baby gets here. A few other questions I had include; Is it a rough transition? Is it worth the effort it takes? How much more effort goes into organic gardening? Is it do-able with a new baby, or should I wait until the baby is older?
Thanks!
Organic gardening is much easier and less time consuming than chemical gardening. The only difficult thing about organic gardening is finding organic products.. When one uses chemical products you MUST follow directions explicitly. It is just about impossible to over fertilize and hard to burn up your plants with pesticides while using OG techniques, unlike chemicals. All OG is, is an attempt to follow Mother Nature. To imitate her but also to improve Her. With OG you feed the soil not the plants. Your garden improves year after year, not the other way around. All you have to do in organic gardening to be successful is to have fertile soil. It might take a couple of years to accomplish this but after you do all you have to do is maintain it. With chemicals it is a never ending increase in products to maintain your productivity while at the same time your soil is slowly deteriorating. By using organics this is not a problem.

Reaction score