Newbie needs easy grow veg!

Reaction score
I have just taken the plunge and decided to start growing my own veg. I am looking, initially, for produce that is easy to grow (outdoors) and doesn't take much tending, until I find my feet with all this gardening malarkey. I have had some success with new potatoes and spring onions (although the spring onions were TINY o_O ) and am now looking to broaden my horizons a bit. Any tips for a newbie here as to what may be good for me to try next?

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Rachel.

Beetroot is always a good one, keep it watered so it doesn't bolt. I started off with a few plants that a neighbour gave me when I was about 7.

Grew a humongous one last year, Judges at the show didn't know what to make of it so they ignored it :D

001-19.jpg

Reaction score
How about some herbs, spinach, bell peppers and tomatoes? These are so easy to grow and anyone can do it.
Melons are good too.. I don't do anything at all and still have some melons from the seeds I mindlessly threw into a container after eating one.

Reaction score
If your weather conditions allow it, I would suggest chillies and tomatoes. That's mainly because I like to eat both chillies and tomatoes. Of course, they are easy to grow, too. Just start them off in a nursery patch. Some people have tried using cardboard egg-racks successfully. When it's time to transplant, you have to be a bit ruthless. Just pick the best and throw away the rest.

Reaction score
Tomatoes aren't as easy as you would think. I tried tomatoes a couple of years ago, the crop was pitiful. I think a greenhouse is a wise choice for tomatoes, otherwise they just succumb to the weather. I've also tried growing peppers, they rotted on the plant before they even got to half the size they should have been for me to pick. :mad:

Reaction score