Newbie help: staking an established tomato plant?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all!

I apologize in advance if an answer to my question has been posted elsewhere--I did a forum search and didn't turn up anything, though I could have missed it. I also apologize for my nearly complete lack of gardening knowledge--this is my first time out the gate and I know very little, though I've been learning a lot as I go along.

I am using the square foot gardening technique with a 4x8' raised bed, and so far (I think) it's going very well! My one concern at the moment is one of my tomato plants. I chose a determinate plant (marglobe) because I didn't want to deal with staking. Apparently when I put the plant in the ground it was slightly askance, and as it continues to grow it is doing so markedly diagonally.

Now of course I'm cursing myself for not erring on the side of caution and staking anyway. This obviously isn't a problem now, but I feel this will be disastrous when the plant finally starts bearing tomatoes. So I figure I should bite the bullet and try to rectify the issue by staking it, but obviously I'm worried about root damage. Will I kill my plant if I do this (it's been in the ground 2.5 weeks)? Is there a method for more safely or gently staking after the fact? Should I leave it alone and risk it? Thank you for any help or advice you can give me!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Bush tomatoes have a tendency to grow like that, in my experience, and I would try to support it AT THAT ANGLE, by using three canes arranged to form a tetrahedron.
You'll have fewer problems with trusses breaking like this.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States