New to Gardening Forum Some help with soil sample, please.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Live on the south east coast of Massachusetts.
I have been growing Tomatoes , cucumbers, peppers for many years for the most part trouble free , I get fresh compost from local farm and usually toss a handful of bone meal and lime around the plants every year.
The last few years it has been a struggle so I decided to get a soil sample test.
Lots of things going on in this sample and was wondering where I should start.
The garden was a complete loss this year for me. Lots of rain and mold/blight took over early. So now I want to get ready for next season
03B2328A-34E0-4C98-AAEA-3FE393A7303E.jpeg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello and welcome to the Forums.

Questions arise from looking at this table.
What methods were used to do these analyses? Is this this the result of a single sample or an average of multiple samples?

The optima supplied are all given as ranges, this is certainly a step in the right direction. Still it is good to remember that different plants, crops, climates, seasons, growing methods etc. could each have their own set of optima.

Also take note that the physical amount of an element in soil is not the same as the level of availability to plants. pH can affect the availability of many nutrients. Also the relative abundance of different elements in relation to each other can affect their availability as well. Needless to say these inter-relationships can be complex.

Just for now, let's bypass these questions and concerns and take the table as a given.

According to this table your soil's pH is too low and it is too high in Zinc. All other elements are optimal or sub-optimal. You can raise the sub-optimal levels by applying fertilizers. However, if you want follow this table, you will need to re-test periodically to make sure the levels have reached and are staying within their optimal ranges.