Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 9a
Country
United States
Good Morning everyone,
I am new to the site and I'm just getting started in gardening. I have worked in the technology industry for over 14 years doing very high level IT work. I'm ready for a change in pace. Our house is in the foothills of California and I own about 5 acres of sloping land. The plan is to start out my garden from seeds, build some greenhouses, harvest my veggies and fruits and sell them near my house on a farm cart. Other people have done this in the past in my area for a few years and made enough money to put a down payment on a house. For some reason nobody continues after a few years. I'm aware that i may make zero money doing this but i have 2 young sons almost 1 and 3.5 who would love to spend some time with their dad outside. I'll keep the posts updated in the project logs and possibly make a small blog and a few YouTube videos along the way.

-John

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum John :)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to gardening forums @tNtRanch.

I think you will find gardening very beneficial and relaxing after all that IT work, and will be doing your little boys a huge favour helping them to learn about the way things grow. It is great being able to garden on a slope, and a good opportunity to create an interesting space. It would be lovely to have a look at your space, and maybe you would be able to upload a picture or two of it for us to see ??

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 9a
Country
United States