New gardener

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi everyone, I am somewhat new to gardening. Last year I planted some lettuces in late spring and we enjoyed them in the summer. But I'm trying to start early this year (my region's last frost is around May 1-10). I've started some lettuces and dwarf carrots indoors in an egg carton around a week ago and I bought an unusual rocket tomato product (seeds in a roll) from the dollar store. I have them set up in my kitchen because it seems to get the most light there.

My lettuces have sprouted. My carrots are taking their time. The tomato is chilling.

Should I get a grow lamp for the seeds? If so, which one is good?

When should I transplant the seedlings from the egg carton to a bigger container or should I put them directly into the ground outside later?

I've included pictures of my setup, if this helps. Any general tips about that?

Thank you for your advice. The current situation has caused me to take up a new hobby. :)

IMG_0196.jpg

IMG_0197.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United States
I use fluorescent lights every year to start my seeds. You can remove the plants out of the egg carton when the roots are big enough to move the soil with the roots. . Be careful because its easy to over water seed sprouts when they are tiny and fragile. It looks like you are doing a good job just need more light. Good luck

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It looks to me as if the tomatoes are on a seed tape. If so they should not be rolled up, they should be stretched out in a linear fashion.

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Thanks Chuck and oneeye for the tips.

I'm not sure if the tomatoes are on the same thing as a seed tape. The directions on the back implied that it should stay rolled up in the pot. The whole set up seems to be pretty weird and if the Amazon reviews are any indication it doesn't work too well, but I guess that's what I get for buying supplies at Dollarama. :)

Reaction score
Country
Canada