New gardener...need serious help!

Reaction score
Country
United States
20160801_195435.jpg
I wanted to try container gardening and only wanted perennials. I am very new to this and trying very hard, but these three plants are not doing well at all. I have tried full sun, partial sun, more water, less water...etc. Nothing seems to help. All three plants did very well for about six weeks, but now they are limp and the hibiscus buds are dying on the vine before they mature enough to open. Even the moss roses are looking poor. I am not sure what the plant with the pink/green variegated leaves is because my puppy ate the marker. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Michelle, N.Texas

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Where do you live?

Anyway...these are all perennials. Each one of these plants needs its own container; about five gallons of soil and room each. Those poor things are completely overcrowded in your little single pot.

All due respect but I would disregard what the last poster suggested. Glycophosphate is an herbicide (Roundup) and kills anything it comes in contact with. :oops::eek: :rolleyes: Google it.

The variegated plant may be some type of poppy. Hard to tell from that one photo.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Beth is right--move each to its own pot (the moss rose may or may not be perennial in N. Texas, but it will reseed itself for next season.). Make sure your new containers have drainage and, until the plants get settled into their new homes, don't fertilize! After about two weeks a mild fertilizer could be of use, but use your judgement on that.
The variegated leaf plant looks familiar, but if you could repost a photo when it perks up, we may be able to ID it for you.