New gardener: Buford, GA: Tea Olive plant losing leaves, clay

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I'm a new homeowner and this is my first attempt at gardening. The goal was to begin a living fence on the perimeter of my yard. I bought and planted back in October and followed whatever instructions I could find online and from the worker at the nursery. As you can see from the pics, 1 plant has lost most it's leaves, and a few others have some browning. I planted 8 total plants, they vary in terms of how they look, leaf color and leaf loss.

- Dug the hole 2-3 times size of plant

-mixed 1/2 soil conditioner and 1/2 native soil (clay)

-if rain didn't come, watered once a week (seems like more than anything, people warned of root rot)

-covered with mulch for protection

-most the plants are in full sun

I picked Tea Olive plant because all indications were that it was very resilient and I figured beginner friendly. I asked some more experienced friends and family about my concerns, and they told me not to worry as it's most likely transfer shock, but I just wanted to make sure I was doing everything possible to give them the best chance. It's now been about 5 months since planting, and there has been steady rain since planting here in NE Georgia.

Thanks for any guidance/advice you can provide!

Reaction score
Country
United States
some pics of the plants attached

Attachments

• healthier.jpg
    healthier.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 17
  • leaf discolor.jpg
    leaf discolor.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 14
  • medium leaf loss.jpg
    medium leaf loss.jpg
    100.9 KB · Views: 16
  • saddest.jpg
    saddest.jpg
    132.7 KB · Views: 18
Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.