New Australian Willow Tree not looking good.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi... newbie here.

I bought a Australian Willow Tree from a local nursery here about two months ago for a drought tolerant project. The planting went well. Within days I saw new growth and the tree looked healthy. Now it's settled into a droopy state that I can't figure out. Here is what I've noticed:

1. The growth has slowed
2. A lot of the new growth tips have turned brown
3. The leaves have lost some of their color (though none have fallen and when pulled, remain strong)

We've had some rains this winter and I've been careful not to water it too much. However, I'm starting to wonder if because it's a new tree, it needs more? Any suggestions on what might be going on? Maybe a liquid fertilizer or vitamin complex for new trees?

Thank you,
Jonathan
Upland, CA

Attachments

• Australian Willow (10).jpg
    Australian Willow (10).jpg
    332.3 KB · Views: 243
  • Australian Willow (6).jpg
    Australian Willow (6).jpg
    304.1 KB · Views: 225
  • Australian Willow (5).jpg
    Australian Willow (5).jpg
    307.5 KB · Views: 228
  • Australian Willow (2).jpg
    Australian Willow (2).jpg
    329 KB · Views: 211
  • Australian Willow (9).jpg
    Australian Willow (9).jpg
    213.2 KB · Views: 238
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome Jonathan. :) As a young tree it's roots will still be close to the surface so will need more water until it's established. Has it been fed since planting?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Thanks Sheal for the welcome and responding. No, it hasn't been fed.. real novice here :rolleyes:, I'm better with regular plants.