Need help finding a fuel tank

MrB

Reaction score
Country
United States
Howdy, newbie here and I'm kind of in a pickle. I picked up an old (2004) MTD Yard Machine 31cc cultivator from my dad that had been sitting for years outside his garage. Fine and dandy, washed it off, cleaned up the carb and it runs good. Problem: the gas tank is totally destroyed from sitting in the sun. I've tried to weld it back together but as fast as I fix one hole, another pops open. Problem 2: no more tanks are available from MTD or any other source I can find. I even tried a place called Harald's for a used one but no good there. So,,, I'm hoping someone has an idea where I might find one, new or used. Or, how about a tank that will work? Don't care what it looks like as long as it does the job and doesn't leak. Ok, it's a 2004 MTD Yard Machine 31cc Cultivator 21A-121R900 Fuel Tank #753-04306 (unavailable) Any and all thoughts appreciated :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry I am utterly of no use to you, have on idea of what you are even talking about :ROFLMAO::LOL: , but.....
.....Welcome!!! to the forum :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
I cannot source tje number but ebay search "2004 mtd cultivator fuel tank" gives a bunch that may be cobbled together. Most of those tanks are some sort of a pinch fitting so you may need to come up with some rubber tips on a custom aluminum bracket.

MrB

Reaction score
Country
United States
I cannot source tje number but ebay search "2004 mtd cultivator fuel tank" gives a bunch that may be cobbled together. Most of those tanks are some sort of a pinch fitting so you may need to come up with some rubber tips on a custom aluminum bracket.