Native Gardener from NE Florida

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Just registered. I'm from Atlantic Beach Florida, part of Jacksonville. I've been gardening for about 7 years. It all started when I was trying to figure out what to do with patchy, shady areas of my yard where grass doesn't grow well. Long story short...I stopped mowing in those areas and mulched over them with leaves I collected from curb-side pickup in my neighborhood. I also started composting about the same time. Seems like every year I expand my mulchy areas, basically creating habitat for flora/fauna.

I've learned to appreciate native plants, AKA weeds and have adopted a policy to not pull so-called weeds and allow to grow and see how it fits into my little habitat zone. Some of my favorite include the Florida Betony, Spiderwort, Wood Sorrel...

I've found that these plants and many more are crucial to local pollinators. And to think some consider them a noxious weed. I also grow some traditional vegetable plants, such as tomatoes...for my own consumption, but most of what I grow is for the pollinators, for example I have some broccoli growing now, because the bees go absolutely crazy over the flowers.

I hope to add some photos later on...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I just joined last night and am in jax beach. Small world eh neighbor?

I have a friend in AB and pollination is an issue with him. Very odd because this has never been an issue for me. I didn't know it was an issue for people in general till he started gardening and I saw him pollinating by hand. This may be because I have an outdoor tool shed which attracts carpenter bees like no tomorrow. They're not really around so much now that it's 'cold' out but I see them coming to my basil flowers from time to time.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
And to think some consider them a noxious weed.