My Ugly Lawn

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, i need some advice on my garden. Picture attached shows how awful my lawn is, i have had 3 people look at it and have given suggestions

1. A gardener said he would dig up all the old grass, lay top soil and lawn seed or turf
2. A landscaper said he would rotovate it and lay seed
3. A lawn treatment company said they would aerate and scarifiy it before laying seed and maintain it for 1 year.

I cannot understand why they have all suggested different things, of course i am no expert. The top few inches of soil is very hard and dry, it is very lumpy. I have several types of grass that i have been trying to kill off including field grass.

The gardener said he would have to dig it all out as he didnt believe a rotovator would work. I think it would, and have been tempted to even start the job myself. Im also not sure how aerating and scarifying would remove all the dead grass.

Any suggestions would be great

Attachments

• 13662554_10153776011287005_659448778_o.jpg
    13662554_10153776011287005_659448778_o.jpg
    181.1 KB · Views: 432
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United Kingdom
If your no gardener then I'd suggest you take 3rd option but if your up for it and can get your hands on and operate a petrol mowers just getting it cut will make a big difference & by getting your hands dirty and doing it your self you could save heaps of money!. you could even just get a man with a mower to give it the first big cut then take it on your self from there with mower in hand once a week or two it would look lovely in know time!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines