My tomato plant leaves are starting to turn black

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So I've been growing this tomato plant the past few months. It's my first year growing them so I'm figuring out the right and wrong way of things on the job so to speak. I keep the plant in a porch which is basically like a small greenhouse as it can get really warm in there. I water it every morning with roughly a pint of water. Recently, the leaves at the bottom of the plant have started turning black. I'm not sure if this is over watering or if it's located in an unsuitable environment for the plant but I don't think this bodes well for it.

I did repot it recently with a different type of compost that what was used in the beginning so it may also be lacking certain nutrients in the soil.

Anyway, I'm kind of at a loss so if anyone has any ideas, that would be great

71AD9435-08C5-439B-9386-D19001806D92.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Your plant is starving. It needs both micro and macro nutrients, but mainly phosphorus. Feed with good organic fertilizer and liquid seaweed.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Your plant is starving. It needs both micro and macro nutrients, but mainly phosphorus. Feed with good organic fertilizer and liquid seaweed.

see I did think that but read other places that I’d to only start feeding it once the wee flowers start appearing. Cheers for the help though! do you think it’s salvageable?

ill get some food for it ASAP

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
see I did think that but read other places that I’d to only start feeding it once the wee flowers start appearing. Cheers for the help though! do you think it’s salvageable?

ill get some food for it ASAP