My first ever garden was doing great until...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
(I need recommendations on my garden as a whole and on several topics, so this post provides the most holistic picture of my garden that I could. Therefore, it's super long and I hope that anyone who has the time will read and give me feedback.)

Hi, all! I'm very excited to join this group! My family and friends do not want to hear another word about gardening :) This year I started my first ever garden and this is the first forum I've ever joined as well. So I'm a newb at everything. I live in Kentucky (Zone 6b) and just bought a house that has a huge flat front and side yard, a steeply sloped back yard, and a flat-ish 1/4 acre field across a small stream. The property is surrounded by a community of cattle farmers. The soil is clay. I started researching gardening info last winter. In February I prepared a 10x15 garden area in the side yard that gets full sun from 9-930am until sunset. I used a no-till method, 2-4 inch layer of (big box store purchased "really good compost") compost, blood meal and bone meal, coffee grounds and I used craft paper and straw as a weed barrier. I purchased seeds from a local big box store and started tomato, pepper, eggplant, okra, leeks, watermelons etc. Outside of a small bout with fungus gnats, I felt pretty successful. In April I transitioned most of the seedlings to the garden and some to pots on the porch (2eggplant,1 okra,1 watermelon and I planted winter squash and tomatillos in pots outside. I also planted a variety of companion plants: zinnia, marigolds, basil, chives, oregano, calendula, sage, thyme, dill etc. I interplanted some onions, the chives, and leeks throughout as a repellant. I made some tomato supports with cattle panels and I planted some squash and the watermelons in "raised" bags of compost/soil mix with the bottoms cut out and covered with black landscape fabric. I feel like pretty much everything I did was