Murraya Mock Orange Hedge issue

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi All,

I'm a Newbie ( Yeahhh )..:).

I live in Qld, Australia ( Tropical climate ).

I planted a hedge approx 3 years ago and it has thrived very well in premium soil, horse manure and topped off with sugar cane mulch..

This spring i have noticed a patch on top of the hedge that has gone from bright lush green to a muddy green however under this is still bright and lush green..
The spot in question is also not growing any new growth on top...

Has anyone seen this before and shine some light as to what is going on...

Thanks for Listening .. :).

Attachments

• 20211116_082748.jpg
    20211116_082748.jpg
    407.8 KB · Views: 29
  • 20211116_082909.jpg
    20211116_082909.jpg
    413.3 KB · Views: 34
  • 20211116_082959.jpg
    20211116_082959.jpg
    434.2 KB · Views: 37
Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

That is most curious. I'm not certain what is causing this.

One possibility is that it is a genetic difference. Either it is a seedling that has manifested the trait of yellowish leaves which causes slower growth compared to the other Orange-jasmine (Murraya paniculata) in the hedge, or else it is a sporting branch (somatic mutation) that has developed on one of the Murraya shrubs.

Another possibility is that the shrub is suffering decline because of a disease, nutrient deficiency, or due to competition with other plants in the hedge.

I look forward to hearing what other have to say about this. If there is any change for the better or worse, please let us know.

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

That is most curious. I'm not certain what is causing this.