Miracle gro garden soil

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello I am new to gardening I purchased several plants about 5 inches tall each and purchased 3 miracle gro gardening soil without even reading how it says for in ground use only I would prefer to use fabric bags. Has anyone had luck using miracle gro gardening soil in fabric pots?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I don't see why you cant use those bags as long as the plant doesn't turn the bag over. No different than using a 5 gallon bucket with drainage holes or a raised bed. The soil may dry out a little quicker though.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Apparently the soil I bought is for in ground use only. It can become compacted so they recommend mixing half and half with native soil. But my soil is almost like clay

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Wouldn't clay compact more than the MG garden soil?

The ingredients look the same as the potting mix but in different concentrations.

That says you can ammend raised beds with it but then it says it shouldn't be used in containers. I'm not sure I understand that. Maybe someone else can say for sure but I can't. Maybe the cloth bag jostling around would compact it more.

What plants did you get?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Ok so the garden soil is missing perlite. That is probably where the compaction thing is coming from. Also seems like they are calling a container a pot (confined space for the roots to grow vs a raised bed with room to grow). I think I'd try to return the soil and get the potting mix.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I bought 10 gallon fabric bags. The plants I bought were green bell pepper, strawberries, roma tomatoes, and onion. I already opened one bag. The garden soil I bought was miracle gro vegetables & herbs.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States

It doesn't have perlite in it either.