Mint plant leaves going yellow

Reaction score
Country
Spain
Hi. Newbie here! First off I must say that I do not have green fingers. If any colour they would be black for death to plants! I struggle to keep plants alive! However, I really, really want to grow a few herbs.

I am in Fuerteventura, the Canary Islands. Our weather is hot and the soil is not good.

I killed my first mint plant. I suspect I did not water it enough. 4 Weeks ago my Sister in law bought me another, telling me to water it every day, which I did. However, some leaves are starting to go yellow and this morning a couple of developed a brown splodge on them.

It is in a pot and the roots are coming out of the holes in the bottom. I left off watering it yesterday because the soil still felt a bit damp and I was concerned I might be over-watering, but I did spray the leaves with water. Due to the strength of the sun here, we do keep it in the shade.

I'm not sure if the problem is because I over-watered it or possibly lack of sunshine (I just read they need sun). Or should I be putting it into a larger pot?

Sorry I just took the photos and it's still early morning and pitch black here!!

IMG_20171016_064323926.jpg IMG_20171016_064358128.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
India
You are right it needs larger pot, may be a flat one with larger surface about 4-6 inch deep, they are runner plants.

They tend to grow up, and cross edge of pot, you need to prune it and direct it towards soil.

Search 'layering of plants' Propagation method.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It is being over watered and it needs to go into a larger container. You will find that it is root bound which is why you have to water it so often. In a proper sized container you shouldn't have to water but once or twice a week. I would place the container where it gets partial shade during the hottest part of the day.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States