Mature Apple tree health question

Reaction score
Country
Netherlands
Hi everyone,

I have just bought my first apple tree. We have chosen an adult elstar (10 years old). The tree was planted in our garden by the company where we bought it. After they left i inspected the tree and saw few things that concerned me. The company indicated that I don't have to worry about this. I want to double-check it, but I can't find out for myself.

Maybe one of you can help me. It's about two things:

- A piece of string has grown into a branch of the tree, and I can't get it out (see photo). The company told me to cut away the ends and that it doesn't matter for the health of the tree. What do you think?

- Two branches (one main branch) have deep grooves. I did a scratch test and the wood under the bark is green. Is this apple canker or something else? Will it heal on its own or do i need to do something?

I am really a beginner and would like to learn more. I hope I can learn something from you!

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20201208_164353.jpg
    20201208_164353.jpg
    99.3 KB · Views: 72
  • 20201208_144136.jpg
    20201208_144136.jpg
    278.7 KB · Views: 70
  • 20201208_164335.jpg
    20201208_164335.jpg
    155.2 KB · Views: 71
  • 20201208_142023.jpg
    20201208_142023.jpg
    308 KB · Views: 68
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Firstly, welcome to the forum @Applelover :)

Zigs and I have just had a chat about your tree, and we definitely think you should insist that these people should come and remove the tree and refund your money. Although the tree will probably survive the ill treatment it has suffered, they have no business selling you a tree that has been so damaged. It also looks as if this has been planted with the pot still on it, so how will the roots grow????
This is not a good advertisement for a decent nursery, and you would be within your rights to leave a very negative review in our opinion.