Lets talk about hardiness zones

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Now I'm still new to this, so bear with me. I live in the beautiful Florida panhandle (Niceville, about 10 miles from the coastline...a mile or so from the bay) and am considered 8b. I have recently noticed members in areas around the world that I would not consider to be anything like our climate here that are in similar or higher zones. For example I believe we have a member here from England who is zone 9?

A look at the map and I see that parts of the northwest are also considered zone 8. Now, ive been to both England and to Washington state several times ( in fact I'm pretty well traveled, having visited; overnight at least, 48 of the states and about a dozen other countries on four continents); I can say, without question that neither of those locations weather or climate is anywhere near what ours is here in NW Florida. Not by a long shot. I'm rather surprised that these northern locations are that warm, but Ill believe the data.

Since this is based on "average extreme" temperatures (somewhat of a contradictory term), is there a different map that shows averages by month that would perhaps give the novice gardener a better understanding? or help to make a better assessment if I want to risk a certain plant? Some species of banana, for example. are cold hardy only to 40 or so. If they freeze, they will die. According to the map, zone 8b is no good. I know for a fact, however, that we spent VERY little time below 32 degrees and have not had a hard freeze (frozen ground) in a very long time. We had an ice/snow mix several years back and you would have thought it was the second coming. People had never seen such a thing here before....it just doesn't happen. So in all likelihood, these bananas would do well here and may need a little protection a few days in the winter if we have a "hard" winter.