Leaf shredding

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys I’m new to the forum! Howdy!
I’m fairly new to the gardening game. I want to make some leaf mould and I’m looking for a good way to shred the leaves so that the process is quicker. I see a few tools that shred dry leaves ok but the problem is I’m in the UK and I’m finding it hard come across dry leaves as it’s raining every day so they are all sodden wet! I had a 3 in 1 garden vac that was ok but was only half decent when the weather was dry (which isn’t that often) but it didn’t shred it that well as I’d still had full leaves in the collection bag. It packed up anyway after 3 weeks so I got my money back.

ive seen online that people shred them in a bin using a strimmer but I think the leaves need to be dry. I’ve got an undercover aly next to my house which I’ve scattered a load of leaves over to dry them but it’s going to be a slow and tedious process.

Has anyone got any bright ideas? It will be much appreciated!

thanks

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
first they have to be dry. next run over them with your lawn mower (without the bag). then put bag on and run over again, sucking them up, you got shredded leaves.
Thanks for the reply. I did try that with a flymo mower and leaves just flying everywhere making a huge mess. Maybe Il buy a decent lawn mower.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Keir Hardy
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for the reply. I did try that with a flymo mower and leaves just flying everywhere making a huge mess. Maybe Il buy a decent lawn mower.

Hi and welcome.

81KAIgHqJSL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

My Flymo an "Ultraglide," has a big fan, the same size as the blade behind it. I use it as a "lawn leaf collector" at this time of the year, it's very good at collecting them, wet or dry.

It does mean that most of the leaves get partially shredded.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States