Lawn identification

Reaction score
Country
Trinidad And Tobago
Hello,

I’m new to lawns and backyard gardening overall and would like some advice on what type of lawn I have growing (that’s if it is a lawn). It seems as though it’s very fibrous and grows thick and spreads. I’m hoping I can let it cover my backyard and mow it I need some help identifying the name of grass.
01190A36-6E9C-4BBB-82AC-D007B3252DD7.jpeg
58719F2C-A376-4905-BD10-9573B25240D3.jpeg
3672AE3C-F8A6-479A-8A21-CD9ED492B288.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Looks like Common Bermuda, a very popular lawn grass in the Southern US. It is very difficult to kill it out but it is easy for it to turn brown. It loves all of the sunshine it can get and doesn't grow in the shade very well. It must be kept watered or it will turn brown. It is very invasive and will take over gardens, flower beds etc. It should be fertilized twice a year to remain lush. This grass also is a habitat for chiggers. The mowing height should be 2 inches.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I agree, looks like Bermuda grass, which I use to have before mulching my entire yard and transforming it to a native landscape.

I can also attest to the fact that it loves (and needs) tons of sunshine; shade it out and it doesn't grow. When I did have it, it only grew on the east side of my property, because on the west side I had two trees (Live Oak & Southern Magnolia) that provided way too much shade, so another type of grass grew there.

Reaction score
Country
Trinidad And Tobago