Large core in tomatoes

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’ve been gardening for over 40 years and have always grown awesome tomatoes. Most of my gardening has been in the Okc area gardening in red clay. Almost 3 years ago we retired and moved to SE Okla. my soil here is sandy loam but on the sandy side. It’s pretty sorry. I’ve done a ton of composting for building my soil. My tomatoes have produced a huge crop and continue setting tomatoes even though it’s August. The problem I’m having is they have a huge hard core. I think it’s something lacking in my soil but I can’t figure it out. I fertilize my tomatoes with 1 tablespoon of Epsom salts every four weeks, I tablespoon pulverized egg shells every 4 weeks and a light dose of fish emulsion every 2-3 weeks. Also a drink of compost tea monthly. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Although I have no sensible answer to your question, I thought I would welcome you to the forum Al :)

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Well eggshells are not great. Sure they contain calcium, but break down so slowly as to be insufficient, in many cases.
Composted chicken manure pellets break down much quicker & contain approx. 6% calcium, and I dose the growing medium prior to transplanting, as I find the nitrogen levels are lowering just when I want the potash to kick in.
The core of the tomato is the last to ripen, & this leads me to think that improper ripening is the cause, due to a deficiency, namely potassium (potash), which is associated with the ripening of fruit. Your feeding regime also hints at this.
Since you seem to be using organic measures (y) my suggestions are seaweed extract, comfrey tea or, not quite as good, but more widespreadly available, nettle tea.

I echo the welcome.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Well eggshells are not great. Sure they contain calcium, but break down so slowly as to be insufficient, in many cases.