landscaper laid bad sod?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone,

just want to get your opinion/advice. We had sod laid on our front yard on Sat. It was about 90 degrees heat. When the landscaper was done with the job, he didn't call me to come out and do a walkthrough together. Instead, he just called me and told me to water the sod. I'm very new at dealing with lawn so i said ok i will go buy water sprinkler tomorrow and water it. He didn't say anything so i thought it was OK. Also, when i looked at the sod, it was brownish green after they laid it. Again, i thought it was normal and it will green up.

Now we have an issue, because the grass still looks brownish green. Yes, i understand part of it is due to my stupidity and not know to water the sod the same day. But could it be that the landscaper gave me bad sod to begin with? He said that after he laid it it was healthy green which it was not. i looked at it and it was browner than lawn next to us.

My issue right now is that I know i probably made the sod looked worse by not watering it the day of but should i pay landscaper full amount because the sod was not healthy green to begin with? Also, i was not given a full instruction or a walk through after the job was done which really irritates me. Landscaper said it will be green after a month of watering. We told him we will wait two weeks to see if it gets better and pay him.

you can see below pic. there are 2 shades that they laid for us. I'm not sure why the other one is darker. The bright green is our neighbor's grass. This pic was taken the day after they put in the sod.

Attachments

• lawn.jpg
    lawn.jpg
    16.3 KB · Views: 679
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States