Juniper balls from seed

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
Hey All!

I'm brand new to this thread so I guess I may as well start it off with something weird. I'm really interested in creating something like what's pictured in the attached photos. I bought these seeds from eBay which included these photos. Is this possible, mainly the "juniper balls" that appear as though they've sprung up from the sidewalk? I imagine this is a lot of practice, luck, and knowledge of pruning. I was really surprised to search info on starting juniper from seeds and seeing much different-looking plants.

I believe I'm supposed to sprout the seeds in a wet paper towel and then plant in peat moss, but that's about all I know, if that's even accurate. Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated!

Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_2766.PNG
    IMG_2766.PNG
    283.7 KB · Views: 388
  • IMG_2767.PNG
    IMG_2767.PNG
    249 KB · Views: 373
  • IMG_2821.jpg
    IMG_2821.jpg
    116.9 KB · Views: 369
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum! :)

Is it just me, or does that look more like buxus than juniper...? Juniper tends to have a shaggier look when pruned into topiary. So I guess my advice would be to get some buxus seeds! :whistle:

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States

Is it just me, or does that look more like buxus than juniper...? Juniper tends to have a shaggier look when pruned into topiary. So I guess my advice would be to get some buxus seeds! :whistle:

Hi Becky! Thanks! To clarify, the pictures of the "juniper balls" are just what was shown on the eBay page when I bought the seeds. I bought the seeds, which have no instructions, and I'm wondering what the seeds are and how to start them. I contacted the eBay seller, and they didn't have info about the seeds and what they were. So I guess I'm wondering what the seeds are, how to start them, and if it's possible to prune them to look like the photos.