Is this normal

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
So I'm new to roses (and gardening in general.) I just want to make sure I'm not killing my plant slowly. I have pebbles in the bottom for drainage then miracle grow potting soil then red mulch on top. At the beginning of the season when I first transplanted this rose I watered it with fish tank water high in nitrate and higher PH 7.4ish. Then after depleting the nutrients in the fish tank I switched to tap water which is also higher in PH. Because of the higher PH I added a tablespoon of soil acidifer (for hydrangeas and blueberries.)

So my question is at the begging of the season the roses had a solid color and plenty of buds. Now they are changing color and I have very little buds. 2 or 3 buds Now when it was 2 dozenish.

Is this a normal seasonal change or am I slowly killing my plant. It's a apricot drift rose.
20160503_175534~2.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
Your rose isn't looking at all healthy @Midwestnoob. I'll come to the feeding shortly but first you need to deal with a couple of other issues. The rose buds in the picture look as though they have mildew, they should be removed including any leaves that have it. The leaves to the right have black spot, again all these leaves should be removed as well as any that may be laying underneath the plant. Put them in a waste bin or burn them as the spores will re-infect this plant and others if you have them. Buds and leaves will grow back. There are various remedies for controlling these diseases, either chemical or organic.