Inherited 2 polytunels in Scotland.... help?!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I've worked for several years growing specimen trees in New Zealand... At 26 this experience was so amazing and I learnt many native trees and was inspired to pursue a career to do with nature and horticulture.

However - my partner and I have come back home to the UK and found a job working on an island in the Scottish Highlands. As a Southerner this is a far cry from where I grew up, and I've never had much experience of UK gardening anyway!

My issue is this... as the most 'garden-y' person on our small team I've been given the task of reviving two dilapidated polytunnels as an interest point and source of food. I've never grown food before. I've never worked in a polytunnel before. I've never lived in Scotland before!

These tunnels are half poly half shade cloth, which is my first stumbling block - my thermometer reads the same 9 degrees C in and out of the tunnels. So what was the logic with the shade cloth? Should I immediately rip it out and install more poly?

One is also extremely water logged, so I am planning on raised beds.... But beyond this a bit overwhelmed. Any tips or advice would be extremely appreciated!!!

All the best,

Steph

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum @stephsabird and welcome back to dear ol` Blighty too. The Scottish highlands is certainly a far cry from the Antipodes..... good old Kent might have made a reasonable stepping stone, it`s a bit warmer!
The main thing I would suggest with your tunnels is that you spend the winter cleaning up and planning. Trying to cover a tunnel in the winter is just about impossible. The new polythene (which is probably the best way to go) needs to be installed on a very warm day when there is NO wind.