Indian blanket

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello. I rescued this plant from certain death at Home Depot. I put it indoors and deadheaded and it bloomed and did well for about a month and 1/2. Now, it buds, and they die before blooming. It has 2 tiny new plants at the base you can see in the photos. I am not good at watering. Is it dying bc it's winter, how temp sensitive is it, is it root rot, how much should i water, should i repot, should i repot the new plants? It does have leaves that die w yellowing and brown spots, Idk how much that plays in to all of this. I love the plant. It's so cheerful! I'd love to save it if I can. Advise pls? Thank you IMG_0891.jpeg
IMG_0891.jpeg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Blanket-flower (Gaillardia x grandiflora), in the Sunflower Tribe (Heliantheae) of the Daisy Family (Asteraceae), are short lived perennial garden hybrids, resulting from a cross of the perennial G. aristata and the annual G. pulchella.
All Gaillardia are native to North America. They need full sun and good drainage. Perennial species will go dormant in Winter.

Your plant is stressed from overwatering and insufficient light. Also, being a cold-temperate plant, it does not make a good houseplant. Plant this Gaillardia outside in full sun, either in well-drained ground or a larger container. As Winter is approaching do not expect flowers until late Spring. With proper care this plant might recover, but I repeat, it is stressed from improper care. In any case, after a few years it will likely senesce and die. If you want more, consider starting them from seed in Spring.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Blanket-flower (Gaillardia x grandiflora), in the Sunflower Tribe (Heliantheae) of the Daisy Family (Asteraceae), are short lived perennial garden hybrids, resulting from a cross of the perennial G. aristata and the annual G. pulchella.