I'm a newbie, need help with rose bushes

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello Everyone:

I am new to the site and new to gardening in general. I have taken an interest in taking better care of all the cool things in my backyard. The previous owner was obviously a wonderful gardener. I have let almost everything be neglected.

I am starting the process of educating myself to better maintain the rose bushes in my backyard. I have a rose bush that blooms a beautiful reddish orange rose once or twice a year. My issue is...the rose bush is tall and narrow, like a bean stalk. It has a long thick trunk growing, which I hope you can see in the attached picture. The trunk is about as thick as a half dollar. The trunk (I'm calling it) climbs about 3 feet before you see any stem or branch growing from the trunk. And as you can see from the picture, rose are not sprouting until about 4 and 6 feet from the base of the bush. I would love to cut off and replant just the branch/stem that is creating the roses, and get rid of the thick trunk growing from the ground? Is this rose bush salvageable? If so, how would I go about pruning so that the roses are sprouting closer to the ground without a long trunk on the bush. Should I just saw off the bark toward the bottom and let it regrow or would that kill it? I hope I am making sense, and I hope the picture captures what I am trying to say.

Reaction score
Country
United States
It doesn't look like your picture got attached. What you describe sounds like a 'tree rose' or 'rose standard'. I think they graft a rose on top of something else with the upright trunk, to bring all the color up to eye level. If that's the case, cutting it off wouldn't produce a rose bush; if it re-grew, it would be whatever plant the lower portion came from.

I'd maybe try planting a few other roses around it, so it would mature into something looking like a single big bush.

Reaction score
Country
United States