I used to hate the thought of gardening

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
At school, I would never ever thought I would be interested in gardening

Now in my old age... I really want to plant things and nurture and see hings grow!

All my questions will be complete newbie inexperienced ones. Hope that's OK!

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum, @enginestar !

Yes, start with the easiest of seeds - cress, rockets and feed yourself in the process. Look around at your neighbours' gardens. If plants do well in their garden, they will thrive in yours too. Don't go for the cheapest and work out the final height, and girth of the plants so that you don't want to move them in the future.

Gardening Girl

This is my garden several years back.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I don't know if you have the equivalent of Master Gardeners in your country. They usually have a booth at a lot of local garden shows in the US. They are there to give free advice and answer questions. I also use the Co op Extension offices for free valuable information. This may be something we only have here in the states as well. Hopefully you have some type of resource like that. If not, ask a gardening neighbor. We all love to share. Best of luck.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Enginestar, you have found the best source of information, advice, and support here on the Gardening Forums. I've gardened for 40 years, and am still learning from fellow members. Welcome! And welcome to the fascinating and occasionally frustrating world of gardening.
Please tell us where you are in the UK and your growing zone, so when we see a post from you, we can look at your avatar and see if our advice/suggestions would be helpful.