I have a couple questions about sunflower seedlings

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
hi!! I'm very new to this so forgive any rookie mistakes lol.

ive been geminating sunflower seeds indoors for... probably 5 days now? they have been growing super well and I've been planning on planting them (outside) this weekend but wonder if I should do it sooner? they seem to be growing roots I guess and are denting the ziplock bag with how big they're getting!! should I go ahead and wait two more days or do it now?

I have some questions about planting them too. we get a lot of birds in our backyard and I don't know of a way to protect them. I can't do anything elaborate like fencing or, or greenhouse but if you have any good and easy diy methods then please let me know! thanks!

(I had them spaced evenly apart but I think they got jostled around a little bit so that's why some of them are all tangled up now :( )
15555478868998590615950903371393.jpg
15555479220092979451755644825398.jpg

NigelJ

Still Learning
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would plant now. Over here (UK) I'd cover with horticultural fleece to deter the birds. You could try hanging some aluminium foil or old cds on string over the top. The movement in the wind will deter the birds.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
What's your weather like? I was very surprised at how cold tolerant sunflowers are, which I found out this year with a few volunteers that made it thru the winter here in Jacksonville, Fl.

Granted it was a mild winter, but we had a few nights get down into the mid 30's and a couple of morning frostings.

Disclaimer: I'm not sure if seedlings can withstand those temps.

As for protecting from birds, I can't help...I don't even try...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States