Hydrangea in containers

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all, noob here looking for a little input.

Last year, toward the end of the season my local garden center had their Endless Summer hydrangea marked 35% off, and I picked up a few and divided them. I planted them on the west side of my house at the time, but then I changed my mind on the location. A few weeks ago I dug them up, potted them, and brought them in the house. Currently I have them indoors under grow lights on timers; all of them are out of dormancy and looking nice.

I have a bunch of big round plastic tubs (22" dia x 16" tall) that I'm planning on planting them in, so that I can keep them on my back patio on the east side of the house. I figure the containers will allow me to rearrange them whenever I feel like it, and allow me to control the soil pH to produce the blue color I want.

Anyway, I have two questions:
1) What should I use for a soil mixture ? This would take a LOT of potting soil if that's the best way to go. Is it better to make a mix of topsoil or garden soil and spagnum ?

2) When winter time rolls around, the best I'll be able to do is drag the containers up close to the house, and wrap some insulation around them if need be. With about 4 cubic feet of volume each, should those winter okay in zone 6b ?

Bonus: here's a pic of the portion of one of the plants I kept inside all winter. It didn't do much for most of the winter, so I put it in a warm grow tent for a few weeks, and it did this :)

Attachments

• 20200429_174111.jpg
    20200429_174111.jpg
    150.1 KB · Views: 109
Reaction score
Country
United States