Hundreds of tiny insects inside row cover. Ack!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi there!

I live in the pacific Northwest (Portland, OR area). I'm new to gardening, and am trying to do some organic vegetable gardening. Really enjoying it so far, but I'm learning the hard way about some pests.

I recently had a leafminer problem show up and it's been attacking my swiss chard. I wasn't using any row covering, but learned that I certainly should. So I've been taking the eggs off by hand and installed some half ounce row cover fabric (rebar and 10' schedule 40 pvc pipe for support), hoping I'd be able to keep the population down by just seeking the eggs out myself for a few days and preventing new adults from coming in.

Anyway, I installed the row cover last evening, and this morning woke up to find hundreds (maybe thousands?...ugh) of tiny flying insects crawling around on the inside of the row cover. They're small enough that they can just move right through the fabric (I watched a few go in and out). As far as I can tell, they're not interested in the chard or the kale that is under the covering; they're just crawling around around the cover, mostly on the inside, along the pvc ribs.

I can't seem to tell if this is an entire population that was already living in the garden and is now confused about being closed in or if they're somehow being attracted to the inside all of a sudden. I'd guess the former rather than the latter, but I don't know.

I'd sure appreciate any advice. I have no idea what to do here, and my Google Ninja skills have failed me in looking for a solution.

Thanks in advance,
Scott

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It occurred to me that some pictures might help. Here's what I'm looking at.

IMG_20150820_101440.jpg
IMG_20150820_101643.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Thank you for the reply, Chuck.

The chard plants are about 9" apart.

Here's a closer view of the buggers: