How to make Cosmos Bloom?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, I'm only 20 and this is my first year gardening. I had planted Cosmos (sensation and bright lights) along with my vegetables in my garden back on May 10th. I used MiracleGro all purpose plant food a couple times over a few months. The plants have grown big with a lot of leaves but I see no evidence of flowers coming in; there are no stems growing with buds on them, and the estimated bloom time was July 15th. I learned adding too much nitrogen to the soil can make plants produce too many leaves but not enough flowers/fruit - And Cosmos are particularly susceptible to this.

Is there anything I can do to the soil to make them bloom - Such as try adding the MiracleGro Bloom Booster fertilizer (for more phosphorus)? Should I wait longer? Do Cosmos flowers take long to bloom after buds appear? My Zinnias had buds for almost two weeks before they bloomed.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
Hi @cirroalex i don't know what part of the US you are in, but more than anything Cosmos like sun and heat. I have never fertilized the cosmos i grow and i get more blooms than vegetation. With nitrogen, they will put their energy into making leaves and not blooms. Best to wait, ignore them for awhile, don't give them any more nutrients. If you have seeds, scatter them on poor soil and if you have a month of summer left they will grow and bloom.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA 10a - Sunset 22
Country
United States
I have a few that seem reluctant to bloom too and what I have noticed is they are bigger. I don't recall variations in brand and variety of seed planted, or if there is a direct correlation there.... but ones that are smaller when mature bloomed early and fairly quick. Now there are some that are like 6' plus tall and those seem to be much slower to bloom as they keep getting bigger and taller. But I do have faith as one of the 6 footers has bloomed and it is magnificent.