How to grow fruits in a Tropical Climate?

Reaction score
Hello! I'm from the Philippines and I'm new here, and I really want to start growing fruit trees outside our house.

My problem is that the Philippines is a tropical country, and we only have a dry and wet season. I'm not sure as to what kinds of fruits can effectively grow on a climate like this - as the only ones I know that grow on our country are: coconuts, mangoes, apples, bananas, tomatoes. But I'm not sure if these trees are grown with special care, and I'm only a beginner, so I'm afraid I might be able to choose the wrong fruit and waste time.

Do you guys have tips as to how I could grow fruits in a tropical climate? As in, the dos and the don'ts, and all that? Thank you!

Reaction score
I live in the northeastern US so what grows for me obviously won't work for you. I would suggest that you Google it, what fruit trees can be grown in the Philippines. You should come up with a ton of information for what you are trying to do.

Reaction score
Hi Skywatcher - one of the biggest tips I can give is not to try and grow something that isn't suitable to your climate and if you bear that in mind you can't go too far wrong - as there are many fruits that are known to grow extremely well in your climate.

Apart from the ones that you have already mentioned - Pineapples, Papayas. Guavas, Limes and Grapefruits grow incredibly well where you live as do watermelons - so if you have a garden center or nursery near by - now that you know what you are looking for I would go and see what they have available and how healthy the plants look.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
11b
Country
Philippines
Hi Skywatcher, nice to see a fellow Filipino on the site :)

Our weather is perfect for tropical plants and usually they are very low maintenance. They get ample sunlight and never have to deal with frost or fluctuating temperatures. As a bonus, they make your house and garden much cooler, a blessing during these humid times.