How to get started?

Reaction score
I tried to start a couple of times by buying potted herbs at the supermarket and trying to take care of them but always fail miserably after a few days.
Would it be better to start from the absolute beginning and plant the seeds and wait for the herbs to grow?
And which ones are the easiest and provide the biggest margin for errors?

Reaction score
I'm still new to growing herbs but hopefully I can help you with the little bit of information I've recently learned.

Personally, I like to start from seeds because it gives me a huge sense of accomplishment. I started with four herbs from seeds (sage, lavender, oregano and rosemary. Three of the four grew great for two months but just died. :( I know your supposed to keep them inside for a while but I just couldn't find the right spot. So, I made a greenhouse on my back porch. I kept them moist by using a watering can, but not drenched. I switched from a watering can to a mist sprayer. They did very well with that, too. I became ill and didn't water for a couple days which is when they dried out. I was not able to revive them. But, I learned from that and am successfully raising other herbs.

I would also love to hear what others have to say.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
South Africa
Hi Oakster.

My first thought was that if you're struggling to keep plants alive, growing them from seed is not going to make things easier for you. However rereading your post I noticed something I missed the first time - you bought your herbs from a supermarket.