How to fertilize

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi there, I’m new to gardening and I’m lost on how to fertilize my veggie plants. The three fertilizers I’m looking at are one that is high in nitrogen, one is high in phosphate and the third is Worm Casting for a general purposes. Will this work for my basic garden needs?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi there, I’m new to gardening and I’m lost on how to fertilize my veggie plants. The three fertilizers I’m looking at are one that is high in nitrogen, one is high in phosphate and the third is Worm Casting for a general purposes. Will this work for my basic garden needs?
When you have two different high number fertilizers it is very difficult to find and maintain the correct balance. I would not do this, especially with synthetic fertilizers. Use a good organic fertilizer such as Medina Grow N Green. Worm castings are not a fertilizer as the NPK of it is 1-0-0. It is a great soil amendment though.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
In the absence of a soil test, and without the benefit of knowing what your garden soil is or what plants you wish to grow, your best bet is to use a balanced fertilizer e.g., 13-13-13. Anything else is just guessing and possibly making things worse.

The worm castings are great soil amendments.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Ok, I see. I know my pepper plants are in need of nitrogen. I’m doing all container gardening. I don’t have the option for in ground or raised bed at the moment. I also have tomatoes, lettuce, kale, cabbage, chard and okra. I know the tomatoes and peppers have different fertilization needs so I thought I would need two different kinds

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States