How much sun for Let's Dance® Blue Jangles® Reblooming hydrangea

LGY

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am new to hydrangea and recently got a hold of this one from a local nurseries.

I am in zone 9b in California and before I purchase the hydrangea (the only plant my husband asks for within all the rest of “my” plant purchase; he wants a blue one), I did lots of research how to keep it blue and how in general hydrangea don’t like to much sun as it might burn (I think YouTube “garden answers” says she put an umbrella out the first year, but her weather is different from mine and hers was jumbo big and not compact type).

The specific one I got (link at the bottom) says part sun to sun sun, so I am not sure if the current set up of direct sun of 3.5 hours in spring time is sufficient enough.

Anyone has experience with this plant in hot climate or in general what to look for to tell if this plant is happy & healthy (like indicator of too much or not enough sun)?

I have attached a picture, so basically the left fence blocks the sun available in case it burnt. The pot is heavy.
Thanks in advanced.

Attachments

• D30AC209-B62B-4B78-9457-C333F220C81E.jpeg
    D30AC209-B62B-4B78-9457-C333F220C81E.jpeg
    212.6 KB · Views: 62
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
The stronger your sun is during the summer months, the more protection this macrophylla will need. It can be grown in either morning sun or dappled sun. Limit the amount of wind to minimize soil evaporation, especially in the summer. I have some mopheads in bright but full shade too; however, they produce more blooms with more sunlight. The latest direct sun should strike the plant by 10am or thereabouts in the hot summer months.