How much of a problem is heat in outdoor container grows?

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first year gardening. My soil isnt ready. So i opted to do container and grow bag grows. I'm located on the TN/GA/AL boarder

I remember when checking out rain towers in vertical gardening some people were recommending partially burying the containers because heat was a problem. I ordered some 5 gallon containers and 5 gallon grow bags. The bags are white(thinking of the heat reflection here). Pots are black. I'm using Taplas 5-1-1 mix for a lot of these. I have a lot started in doors already.

How much of a problem is heat going to be?

Would drainage be a problem if i decided to burying 75% of the container as prevention?

I don't know how much heat is too much. Or if my area is too hot I live in the chattanooga valley. I Figured I would just ask some experienced growers like you guys about this. :)

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Could you tell us what you plan to plant in the containers and grow bags? Some vegetables like more heat than others, and the same goes for some flowers. Do you have the containers and bags in full sun, or are they shaded part of the day?
Please fill us in on more details and we may be able to help.:)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It depends on what you want to grow. Many plants thrive in hot weather. I live where heat is a MAJOR factor but I still grow just about everything. It isn't so much the ambient temp it is the soil temp on many vegs. Tomatoes are the exception. Just about all tomatoes except cherrys will not reliably set fruit when the ambient temps are above 74F NIGHTTIME TEMPS. Just about everything else is dependent on soil temps and you can control soil temps with mulch

Reaction score
Country
United States