How ghetto is this - planters out of old tires?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I have a stack of hour old tires - three regular sized and one very large, like a semi-truck tire. I was going to take them to the recycling place but a friend suggested turning them into planters. At first I thought that would look rather silly - but I did an image search and there's tons of cute and really creative, elegant even, ideas!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Unless it fits in with your other landscape, maybe not. I toyed around with lots of different ideas but when I took into consideration how I might get tired of them quickly, I figured it was easier not to go ahead than to act and then later disassemble and dispose of.

pinterest has lots of fun looking ideas but many of them impractical.
IMHO only,, certainly I'm no landscape expert.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
To be honest, I'm not a big fan of old tire planters. Usually, they're very kitchy and cheap. On the other hand, I know that many people love them. They don't look that bad when they're painted in bright colors.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Well my yard is, umm, eclectic. LOL.

But you have a good point! I don't want anything cutesy, for sure. Some people down the road from me have a couple of old toilets turned into planters. Cute at first glance, but certainly not my style. Still pondering this.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
To be honest, I'm not a big fan of old tire planters. Usually, they're very kitchy and cheap. On the other hand, I know that many people love them. They don't look that bad when they're painted in bright colors.

OK you guys are doing a great job of talking me out of this idea!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada