How do I correct a poorly begun peach tree?

Reaction score
Country
Turkey
Hello everybody!
I am completely new to this subject. I've researched, but haven't found information specific to my problem, so I hope someone hereabouts can help me. I was given a young (2-3 years old I guess) poorly pruned peach tree (pictures attached) in a 2 gallon pot. From what I saw, the roots don't seem to be very well developed (far from being root-bound). I planted it with a mixture of the sandy soil it came in, some store-bought garden soil, and some natural fertilizer. It's about 10 feet tall, and 12-18 inches above the ground - where I'm thinking of pruning below the two, narrowly crotched scaffolding branches - the trunk is one inch in diameter. In other words, from what I've read and seen, I need to chop it back to a stub to create 3-4 new, better angled scaffolds. My questions are: should I in fact do this, is it ok to do it now in the middle of May, and how risky is it? I am in Ankara, Turkey, which I'm told has a climate similar to Denver. Thanks in advance for your help!

Thumb of 2020-05-16/dm0hotmailcom/b3e1c6

Thumb of 2020-05-16/dm0hotmailcom/901ada

Close-up of trunk below the scaffolds
Thumb of 2020-05-16/dm0hotmailcom/593c71

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello everybody!