How did you get started in gardening?

Reaction score
I grew up with my family being vegetable gardeners. Some for hobby but I am sure it was for the need for fresh food and food they could feed their family on.

I never really had an interest until now that I own a home and we have a family. I don't have the slightest idea on how to get started. I want to do some vegetables but also would like to do some yard work with flowers.

My kids are wanting to help which I think is wonderful. I home school all three of our children and have since day one. Now they are entering high school and middle school ages. I am pleased they have an interest in gardening.

I just don't know how to get started. Do I need special soil? Are there better plants to start with that are easier for beginners?

I have done the basics of tomatoes, but that is it. I am really a beginner! Any ideas of helpful hints would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Reaction score
I grew up with my mum being a keen garder and so I've diddled around in the garden all my life I don't consider myself an expert by any meansand I'm always keen to learn more. I think encoraging the kids is great, it helps them appreciate natural environments. Soil preparation is important to get the best from your plants but there are plants that are pretty forgiving and will grow just about anywhere too. What sort of space do you have, and do you have any idea of what sort of soil you have? is it sandy, clay, dark dirt?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I wasn't interested in gardening when I was a child and my mother was never willing to play with me in our garden. A few years ago my wonderful boyfriend bought me my first miniature rose and it was the beginning of my obsession:D . I love miniature roses and because taking care of them is so much fun, it made me interested in growing other plants:)

Reaction score