Hola from southern new jersey

Reaction score
Hi All- I found this site while researching ideas for my yard for this gardening season. I am fairly new to gardening. Tried my hand at it for the first time about 2 years ago when I purchased a home. Went out and bought plants and trees to plant outside. They are still doing great and as a matter of fact- One of the trees I planted ending up producing plums last season. I had no idea it was even a plum tree!! LOL. So im here to learn from you guys. :D

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Hello NJ and was a fellow NJ er but retired to VA .Fruit trees are the best .I figured if I was going to have trees why not get something to eat from them .I am also a vegetarian .;)veggie and fruit nut and with the costs going up it is better to grow your own .I miss NJ farm stands and I miss NJ sweet corn the best in the world to me .

Reaction score
Yes our sweet corn and farm stands do ROCK!!!

Imagine my surprise when I went out and there was a plum hanging from it..lol.

VA is beautiful though..and not to far that you can't visit :)

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
true my one son still lives up there and i did not want to go much farther south ,yard work most of the year here .Jan.and Feb. are about the only 2 months i get off .I lived in Edison near the Ford plant until we retired here in 2004 .Much cheaper place to retire too .Advantages are we have great views and none of those bad storms and i love the Hillsville flea market ,but i do miss the Englishtown flea market .We are going up in May to AC to use up all of our reward points and visit friends and my fav. place to eat east bay crab and grill .Yummy sarasota salad and there home made bread and horse radish .

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States