Hi, I'm new! (seeking houseplant recommendations)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hi all! I'm relatively new to houseplant care as a hobby, about a month into obsession-level interest. I am going to a local nursery tomorrow and would love recommendations for what to acquire next (if available, and if anyone sees this). I have killed my share of succulents and dracaenas in the past, and I am looking to redeem myself. Below is what I think I have now:
  • Dracaena fragrans, warneckii lemon lime
    • Some years old, with a propagated baby on the way!
  • Epipremnum aureum, devil's ivy
    • Golden, neon, & jade varieties
  • Peperomia polybotrya, raindrop
  • Pilea Peperomioides, Chinese money plant

For reference, I am in the Northeastern US (New England area) and my apartment windows face Northwest. Thanks for the help, and I'm looking forward to meeting you all. :)

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, and welcome to the Forum.

There are so many wonderful houseplants. If you tell us more about what you might like in a houseplant, I'm sure we could suggest something.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hello, and welcome to the Forum.

There are so many wonderful houseplants. If you tell us more about what you might like in a houseplant, I'm sure we could suggest something.
Thanks for the welcome! My main factor is survivability. I want to make sure I get something that can feasibly grow in my space. I haven't gotten to the point where I'm ready to purchase grow lights and humidifiers. I'm not saying it won't happen with time! I really love lush greenery to add to my otherwise bland apartment.

Reaction score
Country
United States