Help with Split leaf Philodendron

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Hello, I have recently gotten this plant that I am having some trouble with. I am rather new in taking care of indoor plants so I'm open to any tips/advice. My split leaf Philodendron has been turning a little black on the leaves. I kind of suspected it to be sunburn, but my plant is not near any direct sunlight. I'm looking for ways to help my plant. I have looked for some help on taking care of this plant, but not much luck. Please share any techniques and advice ):

Attachments

• image0.jpg
    image0.jpg
    29.1 KB · Views: 149
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
That really looks like you are watering too often as shown by the necrotic blackened and yellowing of leaf margins.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I agree with Chuck. And, I would remove the black leaves as they will never be the beauties we hope for as monstera growers. Check your soil, if still in a nursery pot be certain it is a well draining, chunky mix. If not, consider an emergency repotting so the roots can dry. Do not fertilize until you see signs of recovery and new growth. However, this time of year growth slows naturally so do not get discouraged if results are not visible overnight. Hang in there! Also, I have seen very inexpensive monstera at nurseries and big box stores, I assume due to the time of year. ;) Consider purchasing a moisture meter (less than $10) to take the stress out of deciding when to water philos.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Also, Check your drainage holes aren't blocked... you never know ;)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States